Environmental Commission

Regular Meeting

6:30 p.m.
Fourth Wednesday of the month
City Hall Council Chambers
320 West Newmark Avenue, Monterey Park, CA 91754

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


  • Laura Y Gallegos, Seat One
  • Vacant , Seat Two
  • Danielle Sprague , Seat Three
  • Kathy Hyang Ko, Seat Four
  • Thuy Hua, Seat Five
  • Faria Rashid Upama, Youth Advisor
  • Vacant, Youth Advisor

Additional Information

Staff Liaison

Principal Management Analyst Xochitl Tipan

About the Commission

The Environmental Commission seeks to be a focal point for information to guide city leaders on environmental issues and promote environmental awareness in the community.

Membership Requirements

Commissioner membership eligibility requires one of the following:

  1. Resident of Monterey Park
  2. An individual operating or working in Monterey Park
  3. A professional / scholar in the environmental field

Youth Advisor membership eligibility requires the following:

  1. Members must be currently  attending high school or attended within the last six months.

If you are interested in becoming a commissioner or youth advisor, please complete the application and submit to the City Clerk’s Office at City Hall, 320 West Newmark Avenue, Monterey Park, CA 91754


At their meeting of March 2, 2005, the City Council unanimously approved Ordinance 2029 to create the Environmental Commission that would assist the City in preserving its natural resources and the sustainability of the community. The ordinance sets forth the Commission’s responsibilities to:

  • Serve in advisory capacity to the City Council on related issues
  • Assist in issues that are deemed necessary for the environmental integrity of the City of Monterey Park
  • Monitor legislative activities
  • Develop and implement policies and procedures
  • Advocate and promote programs to increase awareness of the environment
  • Investigate funding to implement programs to benefit the community

Each of the five City Council members nominates a commissioner who is then subject to be ratified by the full Council. Youth Advisor members are non-voting members and appointed by the Commission.